British Gas Women’s Water Polo beat Diana St-Petersburg

The British Gas Women’s Water Polo team have continued their success in Moscow with an 8-4 victory over Russian team Diana St-Petersburg on 22 October 2009.

After the Wednesday’s win the team were confident going up against the first division club and were able to come away with a win.

The team started slowly assessing their competitors but always watchful of their attacks with a low scoring first quarter ending 1-1.  The same continued through the second quarter finishing with Britain just down by 2-3.  Yet again the team used the half-time break to come out strong and attack the opposition, converting all three shots into goals.  St Petersburg had no come back as the British defence maintained a strong stance blocking all their chances.

The score was 5-3 to the British Gas team going into the final quarter.  A few errors cost the team three man-down situations, but goalkeeper Rosie Morris, who had played exceptionally well throughout the game, continued to make some excellent saves.  Aine Hoy and Angela Winstanley-Smith scored again to end the match 8-4 in Britain’s favour.

Captain Ros Griffiths said after the match: ”We had a tough start but we were more ready for it and the defence worked really well.  Rosie [Morris] played a brilliant game and nothing went past her.  We kept working in attack and feeding the pit well.”

This competition marks the start of the team’s preparation for the LEN European A Qualification tournament next April and the team will play their final match later today against Russian first division side Rgufk Izailovo Moscow.

The British Gas Women’s Water Polo Team consists of:
Rosemary Morris
Robyn Nicholls
Fiona McCann
Chloe Wilcox
Victoria Louise Hawkins
Frances Leighton
Rosalind Griffiths
Hannah Wild
Victoria Charlotte Hawkins
Angela Winstanley-Smith
Aine Hoy
Alexandra Rutlidge

Print Print
Acrobat PDF
RSS RSS Headlines

16:24:16 23.10.2009
comments powered by Disqus