Innovation Awards 2010

The Youth Sport Trust is delighted to invite applications for the Innovation Awards 2010 for Sports Colleges, Academies with sport-related specialisms and primary schools piloting a PE and sport-related specialism. The Sports Colleges Innovation Awards 2010 will identify innovation and recognise good practice that can be showcased and used to help shape delivery and support the challenges faced in 21st century schools.

This year there are three categories of Innovation Award. Each category will have a winning and highly commend school with a fantastic prize donated by the supporting partners.

Category 1

Embedding the specialism to ‘narrow the gap’ in whole school attainment

An award to recognise schools that are using their specialism innovatively and effectively to impact on whole school attainment, with a particular emphasis on targeted groups of vulnerable / disadvantaged young people

Category 2

Innovative practice in core Physical Education at Key Stage 4

An award to recognise innovative practice that supports, challenges and includes every young person in two hours of high-quality Physical Education at Key Stage 4.

Category 3

Using the specialism to drive learning with targeted sectors of the wider community

An award to recognise schools that are outward facing and delivering innovative projects that use the specialism to improve learning in the community.

Applications for the Innovation Awards should be presented in case study format. Identify the category of award that you are applying for and please bear in mind that joint applications can be made between two or more schools. You will need to provide as much information and evidence as possible in support of your application. The better the information you provide, the better your chance is of winning! The closing date for applications is Friday, 18 December 2009. The winning schools will be announced at the Sports Colleges Conference gala dinner on 10 February 2010.

You can email your application to or print it off and return to Karen Gadsby at the Loughborough head office.

Download further information on the awards

Download application form

Download checklist and guidance notes on completing an application form

The 2009 Innovation Awards winning case studies are now available to download from the Learning through Sharing section of the Xchange Plus homepage.

Print Print
Acrobat PDF
RSS RSS Headlines

16:54:44 19.10.2009
comments powered by Disqus