British Water Polo League

After several months of friendly negotiation, the National Water Polo League and National Women’s Polo League have agreed to merge and create a new organisation - the British Water Polo League.

The new competition will feature more than 60 teams from England, Scotland and Wales competing in eight divisions.

It will be the first time in British water polo history that the leading men’s and women’s leagues have been united under one umbrella organisation. Both the NWPL – formed by eight clubs in 1962 – and the NWWPL, which launched in 1987, will be formally dissolved when the first annual meeting of the new league takes place in May.

David Andrews, the NWPL's new chairman, said: "Merger of the country's two premier league competitions represents a watershed for the sport. The objective of all concerned has been to represent the best interests of member clubs and to help build a better future for British water polo."

Judi Clayton, secretary of the NWWPL, said: "We very much look forward to working with the NWPL and pooling the strengths of both organisations. Merger is a vital step forward for water polo - it is important to demonstrate for the first time that the men's and women's games in the UK are working together in a single, open organisation."

NWPL and NWWPL league programmes will continue to run independently in 2010, as already arranged. By September 2011, the new organisation will be fully integrated.

The new name has been approved by the Board of the Amateur Swimming Association.

Print Print
Acrobat PDF
RSS RSS Headlines

13:06:21 29.01.2010
comments powered by Disqus