2009 Dorset Shield

Bournemouth SC

Bournemouth SC’s men’s water polo team (pictured) staged a dramatic recovery to win the Dorset Shield cup final against 2008 champions Weymouth and Portland in the Stokewood pool.

The home team were 6-1 down at one stage in the second quarter before beginning an impressive comeback, which saw them run out 12-10 winners.

The result reversed the outcome of last year’s men’s championship and added to the women’s league title, which Bournemouth won earlier in 2009.

Weymouth and Portland won the toss and chose to attack the deep end in the first quarter.

The visitors scored first and although Gregg Rogers equalised within two minutes, the visitors soon raced into a 6-1.

Bournemouth captain Steve Randall began the turnaround with a second goal and by half-time his team had reduced the arrears to 6-4.

As the play became more aggressive, both sides had players sent from the water for 20-second penalties. Weymouth were most affected and by the end of the third quarter Bournemouth were winning 8-7. Weymouth fought back to 10-10 before Randall restored the lead with seconds to go.

Dissent from the visitors, who claimed the ball had not crossed the line, then led to a penalty which Richard Simpson converted to completed a scoreline of 12-10 to Bournemouth.

Bournemouth team: Steve Randall (capt), Steve Canham (goalkeeper), Antonio Rhodes, Richard Simpson, Andy Whiting, Gregg Rogers, Alex Marsango, Chris Jones, Connor Sleightholme, Stefan Wyper, Steve Roper, Glen Mitchell, Dan Redrupp.

comments powered by Disqus